Grammarly Review With A Free Giveaway For You

Profile photo of Vinay Kachhara - | 46 Aha! comments | Posted in category: Reviews

Image of Aha!NOW Grammarly review showing a professor writing in a book

How would you feel if the post you are reading has many spelling and grammatical errors?

I know it will not be a good experience. Such errors slow your flow of reading and make you spend more time in guessing the right word or the correct sentence structure.

Moreover, what if you came to know that the piece you are reading is plagiarized – actually copied from somewhere else?

This would definitely leave a bad taste, and you might even decide not to visit that blog again.

Would you want this to happen to you?

I am sure not.

But what do you do to ensure that you do not commit such mistakes?

Talking of myself, I used to depend on my word processor, MS Word, to not make such mistakes.

The red, green, and blue underlined lines in it tell me if there are spelling, grammatical, or sentence structure mistakes.

This helped me to some extent, but still the errors remained and I also had to look up for other services to check the plagiarism level of the guest posts on my blog.

Fortunately, all my guest bloggers wrote original and quality posts so I was okay without any paid plagiarism checker.

However, sometimes you do need one.

All my problems were solved once I started using Grammarly.

I could proofread my articles to check for grammatical errors in a better way as compared to MS Word.

I could even check for errors and plagiarism as I wrote my article on MS Word. And I could do lots more.

I’ve had a great experience with Grammarly as I’ve been using it for some time now, and that is why I am writing a review on it.

This Grammarly review will show you how you can transform yourself from a simple writer to a superb writer.

I must confess that my English writing was not really that impressive, but Grammarly has been a great online help for me.

I’ll take you step-by-step to show how easy it is to use Grammarly, hoping that you also benefit from this leading online grammar checker, instant proofreader, and plagiarism detection tool.

Did you know that a post with spelling mistakes, poor grammar, and plagiarized text is directly or indirectly looked down upon by Google? Such errors can adversely affect your site’s SEO and ranking in the SERPs. Join the discussion here.

Grammarly Online Services Overview

It is very easy and simple to use Grammarly.

In fact, they have a very simple website too. When you visit the Grammarly website, you will find that everything is self-explanatory.

Home page of Grammarly website for review

As you see in the above image of the Grammarly website, you can check the power of Grammarly right on its home page for free.

Copy and paste any piece of text and Grammarly will show you the critical writing issues in your text.

However, this is just a trailer; let’s get on to the main movie.

Before you start, I’d highly recommend that you sign-up for a free 7-day trial. You lose nothing but gain a lot.

You get error explanations and correction tips, context-optimized synonym suggestions, and citation assistance to help you avoid plagiarism.

If you are satisfied, then you may go ahead and purchase the monthly, quarterly, or annual Grammarly subscription.

Sign up form for Grammarly free 7-day trial

But first, know why you should be using Grammarly.

7 Benefits of Using Grammarly

I’ll slightly mention the advantages you get by using Grammarly because I’ve personally experienced them.

  1. Instantly proofread your text for over 250 types of grammatical mistakes
  2. Use the option of different styles of proofreading for your different writing needs
  3. Get to choose the context optimized synonyms while Grammarly proofreads
  4. Access to highly effective adaptive spell checker
  5. Spot even the words that are spelled correctly but used in the wrong context
  6. Check your text for plagiarism and generate citations
  7. Integrate Grammarly seamlessly with the Microsoft® Office Suite, including Word and Outlook

These are just a few of the many advantages of using Grammarly that I’ve outlined to give you an idea of how powerful and useful it can be.

But if you are really serious about improving your articles and posts with respect to grammar and spelling mistakes, want these to read well and impress others, and also make sure that they are unique and original, then Grammarly is the tool you need.

You can use Grammarly as a free online proofreader and plagiarism checker also.

Online Grammarly checking services for proofreading and plagiarism

Of course, you’ll need to sign up to use the powers of Grammarly on your posts, articles, theses, projects, or even novels. You can always take a free 7-day trial to see if Grammarly works for you.

Proofreading and revising are important parts of the writing process. Know more about them including some tips from the Walden University on how to go about doing them here.

Grammarly Online Checker Review

Now, I’ll be giving you some information that you can only view and experience once you have subscribed to Grammarly.

When you log in to your Grammarly account, this is what you see.

Inside page of Grammarly online proofreading website

You can upload any file, and Grammarly will instantly check your writing for plagiarism, scan for grammatical errors, and perform a word usage and spelling check.

After your file is uploaded, this is how your document is checked.

Workspace of Online Grammarly Proofreading and Plagiarism Detection service

On the left is the text of your document, and on the right are the errors that Grammarly spots in the text.

The errors are marked line-wise, which you can correct by just clicking on them. You also have the option to know the reasons and rules, or ignore the error warning.

At the bottom of the Grammarly page, you will see a notification for the total number of critical errors that were spotted and the final score.

When you click on the “Score”, a report box opens.

Report of the Grammarly online proofreading and plagiarism detection service

The higher the score, the better the post. This report will list all the errors Grammarly spotted in your document and even give you the details of its findings.

You see Harleena’s name here because this Grammarly subscription is registered in her name. 🙂

You can download this report to send it to your colleague, client, or just keep it as a record.

On your online Grammarly screen, you have a few options or tools at the extreme left side.

Detailed sidebar of the Grammarly online service workspace

You have the option to switch off any of the error types to not let Grammarly run a check for them.

You can even change the document type from the General to an academic paper, business cover letter, casual email, or even a novel to suit your proofreading requirements.

This was the review of the online Grammarly services. But Grammarly even makes it easier for you to use it’s services with your Microsoft® Office Suite, including Word and Outlook.

I’ll show you how Grammarly helps me to create better documents using MS Word.

Using Grammarly With MS Word

All you need to do is download the Grammarly Add-in, which doesn’t take much time (You will find the link when you log in to your Grammarly account).

Once added, you’ll see the “Grammarly” option in the top menu bar as well as in the top standard toolbar.

You can enable and disable Grammarly as you want, during the process of your document creation.

Once it is enabled in a document, this is how the document appears.

Grammarly button enabled on MS Word document

The Grammarly menu option on the top menu bar gives you the complete count and classification of all the errors found in the document.

Detailed menu toolbar of Grammarly proofreading MS Word add-in

As on the Grammarly website, you can enable or disable any particular error type. You can choose a specific type of the proofreading document such as an article or blog post, academic, business, technical, medical, creative, or casual document.

I love the Grammarly Add-on for MS Word. This saves me a lot of time as I do not have to use any other service.

I can check the document for spelling, grammar, punctuation, sentence structure, style, vocabulary, and plagiarism – at the click of a button and on the go as I write.

Undoubtedly, Grammarly is one of the best online proofreader I’ve come across.

You always need someone other than yourself to proofread your articles. Grammarly’s online proofreader provides another set of eyes to help perfect your writing.

It is faster than any human proofreader and can check all kinds of simple, complex, or weird spelling and grammatical errors. It is much more effective than the Microsoft Word’s default checking system.

Grammarly Helps Improve Your Writing

As you keep using Grammarly, you learn a lot about the kind of writing mistakes that you make.

You also find out about your strengths and weaknesses of writing, the solutions to the writing errors, and learn the ways to avoid them by keeping them in mind while writing your articles.

According to Grammarly:

“Grammarly’s proofreading tool identifies your most common mistakes and helps you understand how to avoid them. By tracking your progress, Grammarly’s online proofreader shows you how much you’ve improved.

Grammarly isn’t just an online proofreader; it’s also your personal writing coach. As it proofreads your text for grammatical errors, Grammarly also recommends improvements in style and mechanics to strengthen your writing.”

You get 24×7 online support, and you can also post your questions for discussion about grammar and writing on Grammarly Answers, at the Grammarly website.

You also get access to additional free resources like the Grammarly Handbook for further explanation of the grammar and writing rules.

Therefore, Grammarly is not only your proofreader and plagiarism checker, but also your educational tool for understanding what and how to improve your writing!

Conclusion of Grammarly Review

I do not undermine the abilities and capabilities of human editors and proofreaders. They are mostly likely to produce good results and do a good job.

However, if you are short of time and do not have a big budget to cater for editors and proofreaders, then Grammarly is your best choice.

I agree with these words of Grammarly:

“Grammarly isn’t just an automated proofreader—it’s a personal grammar coach, plagiarism watchdog, and writing tutor, too!”

Grammarly is easy to use, and it is for everyone – writers, teachers, students, bloggers, medical personnel, business persons, and you name it.

Whether you are a native or non-native writer or blogger, Grammarly will help you create error-free and impressive articles, blog posts, comments, emails, newsletters, and any other form of content.

I use Grammarly, and I recommend that you also try it. Sign up for the free 7-day trial, if you like it, then buy any of the below paid subscriptions.

Snapshot of Grammarly pricing page

I give a full 5-star rating to Grammarly. How about you?

Special Giveaways for The Aha!NOW Readers and Community Members

Hey, it’s Christmas! So, you’ve gifts at Aha!NOW today, worth about $310!!

Grammarly is giving away one free monthly subscription to one lucky commentator of this review post. Yes, one lucky commentator will get one month premium subscription of Grammarly, for free! That’s worth $30!!

All you need to do is write an impressive comment, answer the questions that we have asked, promote this post on the social media, and signup for a free 7-day trial of Grammarly.

Isn’t this great? Hold on, there’s some more surprise in store.

Grammarly is also giving away two free annual subscriptions to two lucky Ahaians or the official Aha!NOW Blog Community (ABC) members.

The Ahaian who tops the leaderboard gets to use the premium services of Grammarly for one full year. This is a $140 worth gift!

And, the Ahaian who accumulated the most AhaPoints in this year, since the inception of the ABC, will also get the annual premium Grammarly subscription worth $140 for free.

It’s Christmas already at Aha!NOW. 🙂 Don’t miss out on the free Grammarly giveaways!

Oh, let me remind you that Aha!NOW is celebrating its 4th anniversary on Christmas, 25th December 2014.

Don’t miss it because that will be the last post on Aha!NOW for this year. All the 3 winners of the Grammarly subscriptions will be declared on that day. So, the offer and giveaway is valid only till Christmas!

Till then, have a great time and look for another BIG surprise in the next post on Aha!NOW – on 22nd December. Bloggers especially can’t afford to miss it; that’s all I can say! 🙂

See you soon and don’t forget to sign up for the free 7-day trial of Grammarly. You’ll love it! 🙂

Over to You –

Do you ever need a second pair of eyes and proofreading help? What do you think of Grammarly? Will you give it a try? Share in the comments below.

Photo Credit: Grammarly, FreeDigitalPhotos

Affiliate disclaimer: Some of the links are affiliate links and I may get a commission if you click on them.



Show Comments

46 Comments - Read and share thoughts

  1. Profile photo of Nathaniel Kidd

    Nathaniel Kidd

    December 19, 2014 at 5:33 pm

    Hello Vinay,

    As a blogger it is a scary thought that we may have grammar errors or plagiarism. We want our readers to take us seriously and if we are to be seen as an authority figure in our niche, we surely cannot afford to have these types of problems.

    I had not heard of grammarly. This is simply something every blogger should add to their arsenal. There is no reason to take shortcuts when you have such a powerful tool.

    I love the fact that it can be easily integrated into word and outlook, not to mention the fact that they have a website so you can just copy and paste your text their also.

    I love how you gave us visual examples of how easy grammarly works. I definitely like the points system. This is one powerful tool my friend.

    Wow, you guys never stop giving. That is awesome we have a chance to win such a powerful tool.

    • Profile photo of Vinay Kachhara

      Vinay Kachhara

      December 20, 2014 at 12:06 pm

      Hi Nathaniel,

      You’re absolutely right. Even though bloggers are not professional writers, but if they expect to have professional blogs, they need to make sure that their blog content is error-free.

      Grammarly is not the only automated online proofreading application, but it is one of the better ones. And, it is definitely a great help and a good tool to have for bloggers.

      I really liked that it can be integrated with MS Word. So in this case, I can even use the MS Word default error checker in conjunction with Grammarly. One more thing is that you can even check your own comment or the other comments on your blog for grammar and plagiarism on the Grammarly website.

      Of course, being able to use it on outlook is good as well for sending error-free mails. However, one thing to remember is that we should not expect such applications to be 100% accurate – even the human proofreaders can’t claim to be that.

      I’m glad you like the review and the Grammarly tool. Wish you all the best for winning it! 🙂

  2. Profile photo of Philip Verghese Ariel

    Philip Verghese Ariel

    December 19, 2014 at 6:13 pm

    Hi Vinay,
    This is really an informative post!
    You did a wonderful review on Grammarly.
    I just checked in, that is indeed a wonderful process to check in,
    I am sure this will be a great help to people like me.
    Since your review reveals, it’s a right thing to jump in,
    Thanks Vinay for this step by step review with the relevant screenshots.
    Of course the giveaways are still an added thing in this festive season.
    May you have a wonderful season ahead.
    An advance Congrats to the winner!
    Best
    ~ P V

    • Profile photo of Vinay Kachhara

      Vinay Kachhara

      December 20, 2014 at 12:08 pm

      Hi Philip,

      I’m glad you like the review of Grammarly.

      I hope you try it and like it. Do let me know your feedback if and whenever you do so.

      Thanks for visiting and commenting. Have a great weekend!

  3. Profile photo of Swadhin Agrawal

    Swadhin Agrawal

    December 19, 2014 at 7:13 pm

    Hello Vinay sir,
    Merry Christmas as already it has been splashing its color as Aha!NOW. I read the review and Grammarly is an awesome tool. Needless to say how much we, the bloggers and freelance writers need it.

    As for me, I have HUGE typing errors and sometimes embarassing grammatical errors that is really so shameful. I use MS word as you and @admin madam suggested me and believe me the resluts have been phenomenal. But what MS word does is it checks for wrong words but not illogical words. Like it points out “hhve” wrong but it says “a pear of pants” is correct as pear exists in its dictionary. This is where you need a premium and more sophisticated analyzing tool like Grammarly. Luckily my clients are good enough to cooperate as I am yet to use a paid tool.

    I am also aware that even if we don’t copy there are millions of writers in the world and same writing style is not impossible. Hence I would suggest that to avoid Google penalties or even manual rejection by readers we should use a tool like Grammarly that gives you in-depth review of your articles.

    Have a great weekend sir 🙂

    • Profile photo of Vinay Kachhara

      Vinay Kachhara

      December 20, 2014 at 12:23 pm

      Hi Swadhin,

      I found Grammarly helpful and thought to spread the word to fellow bloggers and writers. In fact, Grammarly is great for non-native writers, as it can detect even the minor and discreet errors.

      We all improve with learning and practice, so you do not need to feel ashamed of doing that. It’s just that the poor spellings and grammar on the blog are a put-off and may affect the user experience. So, it’s better to use some help and learn as you correct the mistakes pointed out by the application.

      I think MS Word is helpful too, but it definitely has its limitations. I now use both the tools in conjunction, MS Word and Grammarly. Though I don’t expect 100% accuracy, but even then the results are good enough.

      Regarding plagiarism, I think having a few sentences here and there in isolation aren’t a big problem as compared to chunks of sentences being copied as it is. Moreover, you’re right that our writing style may match that of some other writer somewhere, but that’s okay and not a problem.

      I’m glad you like Grammarly and what it does. Thanks for your comment and merry Christmas well in advance!

  4. Profile photo of Erik Emanuelli

    Erik Emanuelli

    December 19, 2014 at 7:57 pm

    Hi Vinay,
    thanks for introducing me “Grammarly”.
    I’ve heard about it, but never tried.

    Also, I’ve always used “Paperrater” as my tool to check spelling and grammatical Errors.

    I appreciate the review, very detailed.
    Thanks again!

    • Profile photo of Vinay Kachhara

      Vinay Kachhara

      December 20, 2014 at 12:27 pm

      Hi Erik,

      Glad you like the review. There are many automated online proofreading applications, and Grammarly is one of them. However, when I researched, I found that Grammarly is one of the better ones.

      Thanks for visiting and commenting. Have a great weekend ahead!

  5. Brenda Lee

    December 19, 2014 at 8:04 pm

    A very timely post Harleena!

    I was asking about book proofreading in one of my author groups because I want to make sure my ebooks are politically and grammatically correct. Grammarly was mentioned by quite a few of the authors as being a recommended source for this. I figured I could use it for my blogging as well as for publishing my stories. I like the fact that you can upload a Word document directly to it especially because that’s what I use for my short stories.

    Thank you for such a fabulous review of Grammarly and hopefully, I’ll be using it in the near future! 🙂

    • Brenda Lee

      December 20, 2014 at 12:22 am

      Oops, I’m so sorry Vinay! 😉

      • Profile photo of Vinay Kachhara

        Vinay Kachhara

        December 20, 2014 at 12:35 pm

        It’s okay, that’s what happens when you’re the hubby of a popular wife! 😉

    • Profile photo of Vinay Kachhara

      Vinay Kachhara

      December 20, 2014 at 12:34 pm

      Hi Brenda,

      I’m glad you like the review. Well, there are many automated online proofreading applications, but I researched and found that Grammarly is one of the better ones. In fact, its ability to seamlessly integrate with MS Word and Outlook is what attract me towards it, besides the added ability to check for plagiarism.

      I’d suggest you try it for free for a few days and then decide whether you want to go for it or not. Though it is great for blogging purpose, I don’t personally know how it performs with regards to checking novels.

      Do let me know if you try it, your feedback will be valuable. Thanks for commenting and have a great weekend ahead!

  6. Stacy Claflin

    December 19, 2014 at 9:00 pm

    Thanks so much for sharing this review. As an author, something like Grammarly is invaluable. I always run my novels through Word’s grammar check before sending drafts to beta readers and editors. I’m grateful for what it does catch, but it also misses a lot, and it sounds Grammarly will catch much of what Word misses.

    I’m really excited to try this out and hope that it’s as great as it sounds. Thanks again.

    • Profile photo of Vinay Kachhara

      Vinay Kachhara

      December 20, 2014 at 12:43 pm

      Hi Stacy,

      Welcome to Aha!NOW.

      The spelling and grammar check features of MS Word are good. I’ve been using them for a long time. However, I personally found that Grammarly does a better job. But then, these applications are not 100% perfect. So, sometimes, Grammarly will not catch that MS Word will. Now the advantage of Grammarly is that you can use it as part of your Word. So, you’ve two tools to check your document instead of one.

      Having said that, I really don’t know how Grammarly would perform on checking novels. I think you can try the 7-day free trial and see how it goes. Do let me know if you do that as your feedback report will be valuable.

      Thanks for visiting and commenting here. Hope to see you around and have a great weekend!

  7. Corina Ramos

    December 19, 2014 at 11:14 pm

    Hi Vinay,

    Great review! I used to use grammarly but when I cut back on expenses a couple years ago I had to let it go but I do use the free proofreading feature. I love how easy it is to do. Just copy and paste or uplaod a file. I also like that it recognizes the type of writing whether it’s professional or personal or blogging.

    Awesome prizes in the giveaway as well! Good luck to all :). Happy Friday, have a great weekend!

    • Profile photo of Vinay Kachhara

      Vinay Kachhara

      December 20, 2014 at 12:50 pm

      Hi Corina,

      Glad you like the review.

      Grammarly has come a long way and changed a lot in the last few years. You will see a completely different interface and more added features. Now that it integrates with MS Word, it makes my job easy.

      Of course, the free proofreading feature of Grammarly is valuable too. But then, if you need in-depth information and analysis, the premium version is more helpful. Not to forget the MS Word Add-in and the ability to check all features altogether, including plagiarism.

      Thank you for visiting and sharing your thoughts. You too have a fabulous weekend!

  8. Balroop Singh

    December 19, 2014 at 11:45 pm

    Hi Vinay,

    What a superb article! Saying all without even pointing a finger. I have come across some blogs with good ideas and posts but was immensely peeved at the number of glaring errors, both spelling and grammatical. I wanted to point out but felt it might seem rude to the blogger. This is an excellent way of guiding those bloggers who don’t even let the MS word check their article…I wonder how they post it without those basic checks!
    Thanks for giving this opportunity to all who want to add more value to their articles. It would save them the hassle of approaching proofreaders and ensure better quality of writing.
    Wishing you and Harleena and all the members of aha-now a very happy Christmas and Happy Holidays!

    • Profile photo of Vinay Kachhara

      Vinay Kachhara

      December 20, 2014 at 1:16 pm

      Hi Balroop,

      Glad you like the post.

      Well, all bloggers are not professional writers. Some of those who blog in English may not be that skilled in English writing, and many are non-native writers too. So, there are all kinds of bloggers. The good thing about blogging is that anyone can open a blog and start writing. Unique ideas and information are valuable too. However, you are right that usage of poor language is a put-off, also from the SEO and search engine ranking aspect, as discussed in the related forum on the ABC.

      Yes, MS Word provides the basic check facility, and it’s sad that some bloggers do not even make use of it. However, Grammarly offers more than that, and it checks for plagiarism too. Of course, I do not say that Grammarly is a substitute for professional human proofreaders and editors, but it is a handy, affordable, and instant solution option.

      Thank you for visiting and sharing your thoughts, Wish you merry Christmas and a happy New Year too!

  9. Profile photo of Sivaramakrishnan M

    Sivaramakrishnan M

    December 20, 2014 at 12:17 am

    Hi Vinay Sir,

    Good Post.One of the worst things about making these mistakes is that we know better. My hands seem to have a mind of their own sometimes and even as I THINK the right spelling I’m typing the very thing I know is wrong. Ps excuse me if there is grammer mistakes 🙂

    To me, I’m unaware if I’m using “on” or “at or “by or “for” wrong! I have to have someone else proof read it to let me know that I’m not saying a phrase right. So for that , what I could do at a moment. Magic of google comes in place and I think most of them use a trick google as personal editor , to speed up editing when we’re stuck and when you can’t find the right way to frame with grammer.

    Thanks for your review on “Grammerly”. I will definitely use ( first trail version ) and let see:) .

    To me, I just have to keep writing and reading a lot. 😉

    Thanks for sharing this info,

    Siva

  10. Balroop Singh

    December 20, 2014 at 1:10 am

    Hi Siva,

    Most of the errors can be self-checked with a little more attention. Did you look at the topic carefully? Please do so and then you can check your own spellings.
    Just offering a suggestion.
    -Balroop

    • Profile photo of Sivaramakrishnan M

      Sivaramakrishnan M

      December 20, 2014 at 7:58 pm

      Hi Balroop,

      I always take up suggestions and thanks for it.
      I have typing errors and spelling mistakes too, Where it starting step for me.. IL correct it 🙂

      Thank you
      Siva

  11. Carolyn Nicander Mohr

    December 20, 2014 at 2:31 am

    Hi Vinay,

    Grammarly sounds like a very important tool for bloggers who aren’t confident of their grammar skills. Like Balroop, I cringe when I spot glaring errors on blog articles. I also don’t point them out because not everyone appreciates being corrected. But I was visiting a blog earlier this week that had valuable content but the article was riddled with errors. I didn’t comment or share because the author looked like he put no effort into proofreading his work.

    Thank you for this excellent explanation of Grammarly, Vinay. I will be sharing this widely!

    • Profile photo of Vinay Kachhara

      Vinay Kachhara

      December 20, 2014 at 1:28 pm

      Hi Carolyn,

      I agree that not all are open to accepting mistakes and more so, don’t like being corrected. But then there are those also who do not want to make efforts to improve. We also need to accept that all bloggers are not necessarily good or professional writers.

      So, it’s obvious that they will make errors. However, what’s not acceptable is not proofreading the posts before publishing them. There are so many options for doing that like MS Word and other automated online proofreading applications such as Grammarly. I’m glad you like its review.

      Thanks for visiting and sharing your views, I really appreciate it. Have a wonderful weekend!

  12. Profile photo of Abrar Mohi Shafee

    Abrar Mohi Shafee

    December 20, 2014 at 2:38 am

    Hi Vinay,

    So far I’ve seen, grammars can turn a blog post to zero value. Because when we read post, we will lose most of interest seeing a major grammatical error. So it is always the best choice to proofread post more and more times before publication.

    While, we can solve most of the errors using tools like Grammarly, Ginger. In fact, I personally used Grammarly and it is so effective. It can solve almost all remarkable errors in no time.

    Yay! Another giveaway on Aha-Now! Day by day, I’m getting more interested to this community. Now it looks more like a family, not the community.

    Thanks for an excellent review of Grammarly. Really loved it!

    • Profile photo of Vinay Kachhara

      Vinay Kachhara

      December 20, 2014 at 1:50 pm

      Hi Abrar,

      You’re right that grammatical errors are a put-off and affect the user experience of the blog. I also understand the fact that not all bloggers are good writers or native writers. So, errors are bound to be there, and that’s all okay. However, when you’ve the facility to proofread your posts before publishing, you should use it, and there should not be any excuse for not doing that.

      Yes, there are many automated online proofreading applications, and Grammarly is a good option among them. Glad you liked its review.

      Thanks for visiting and sharing your thoughts. Have a great weekend!

  13. James Smith

    December 20, 2014 at 6:14 am

    Having used it, I don’t see that t is any help to me at all. Perhaps, having been a technical writer and editor for over 30 years, my needs are less than most.

    Thanks, but no thanks.

    • Profile photo of Vinay Kachhara

      Vinay Kachhara

      December 20, 2014 at 1:56 pm

      Hi James, Welcome to Aha!NOW.

      Yes, I guess since you are an experienced editor yourself, you might not find Grammarly as too helpful. In fact, it is meant more so for students, casual and inexperienced writers, non-native writers, etc. I’m sure some highly experienced editors and proofreaders may perform better than Grammarly in some aspects of spelling and grammar assessment.

      Thanks for visiting and sharing your views. Have a great weekend!

      • Profile photo of Bo Tipton

        Bo Tipton

        January 2, 2015 at 2:36 am

        I have spent my life writing and used to teach English at a major university. I have found that I can proofread or edit other people’s work without any problem. When it comes to doing the same for my own writing it is amazing the problems I overlook because I know what it is supposed to say and do not see what it says. As a experienced writer, proofreader and editor I use grammarly to find the mistakes that I miss in my own writing. It is a good reliable program even though I disagree with it from time to time.

  14. Ashutosh Jha

    December 20, 2014 at 12:39 pm

    Hi Vinay,

    This was a great review covering all the aspect of Grammarly. I am also having a subscription of this site and till now i am very much satisfied with the service. You have reviewed it very well.

    Thanks,
    ashutosh

    • Profile photo of Vinay Kachhara

      Vinay Kachhara

      December 21, 2014 at 8:33 am

      Hi Ashutosh,

      Great to know that you are already a subscriber of Grammarly and you are satisfied with its service. Glad you liked the review.

      Thanks for sharing your feedback as that is valuable. Enjoy your Sunday!

  15. Mi Muba

    December 20, 2014 at 3:09 pm

    Hi Vinay

    What a wonderful graphically presented post along with text. It again proves creativity will never have any limit. I am so impressed to read such a clear review on product where description of benefits lead the convincing to buy it.

    Both native and non-native English speakers face lot of problems to follow rules of basic grammar while writing because the language we speak is quite different than the written one.

    So Grammarly is global solution of all online writers to become a superb writer instead of just another writer.

    I do face big problem while maintaining flow of my writing and buying of this product is in my priority list.

    Thanks a lot for sharing this very informative review.

    Have a great weekend

    • Profile photo of Vinay Kachhara

      Vinay Kachhara

      December 21, 2014 at 8:46 am

      Hi Mi Muba,

      Thanks for appreciating my efforts on this post. You’re right that there is no limit to creativity, and all bloggers should try to be as creative as possible.

      I’m glad you like the review and find it convincing. I’ve been using it, and I’m satisfied with its performance. It may not teach you the art of good writing, but it can guide you on correct writing – writing without any flaws.

      Yes, I don’t think all bloggers are experts in English grammar, and we all do make certain silly mistakes here and there. However, you need to have some idea about Grammar when you use Grammarly because sometimes there are suggestions offered by the application that you need to ignore.

      I think you should go for a proofreading application, and there are many free ones available too. Grammarly even has a free option on its site, and you can use that as well.

      Thanks for visiting and sharing your thoughts.

  16. Enstine Muki

    December 20, 2014 at 6:19 pm

    Hi Vinay,
    English is a foreign language to me so I know my writings are not without errors. Grammarly, as a matter of fact is a required tool to take care of some errors that make ones writtings look silly. I have known this service for months now but have not signed up to the free trial. Of course, I’ll do it following your link just after this comment.

    The giveaways are also awesome! Let me already say congrats to winners before they are announced.

    Oh I see more celebrations coming ahead 😉 I’ll be part of that anniversary on the 25th 😉

    Do have a wonderful weekend Vinay

    • Profile photo of Vinay Kachhara

      Vinay Kachhara

      December 21, 2014 at 9:24 am

      Hi Enstine,

      Yes, it’s not easy to master a foreign language and being non-native writers, sometimes you are not fully aware of all the grammar rules. For that matter, even the native writers may make silly mistakes at times. So, you need some professional help to put a professional face forward.

      It’s good to know that you will be trying out the free trial of Grammarly. Do let me know about your experience with it.

      Yes, it is good to have giveaways on the blog, isn’t it? Moreover, celebrations are a part of life.. and as you say, the good times are ahead and we should celebrate that in advance! 🙂

      Thank you for visiting and sharing your thoughts. Hope you are enjoying your Sunday!

  17. Babanature

    December 20, 2014 at 7:52 pm

    Hello Vinay,
    To say the truth, this is the first time i am hearing the name Grammarly. I do use an online grammar checker called grammarcheck and i’ll say that they are also awesome and i think they both do similar work 🙂

    You have sparked my interest with the review you’ve done for the Grammarly. I will have my team register an account with them and see how it goes 🙂

    Thanks for such a lovely post and oh, nice review.
    have a blessed week both of you

    • Profile photo of Vinay Kachhara

      Vinay Kachhara

      December 21, 2014 at 9:30 am

      Hi Babanature,

      Oh yes, there are many online proofreading applications and they all are indeed helpful. However, they do differ in their performance but you may use whichever you like and are comfortable using.

      It is good to try and compare a new service, especially when you have a free trial offer. But do remember to cancel the free account in time if you do not wish to carry on with its paid subscription.

      I’m glad you liked the review and thanks for sharing your thoughts on it. You too enjoy your Sunday!

  18. Ahsan

    December 20, 2014 at 7:59 pm

    Hello Vinay Kachhara,

    I think every blogger must work on grammatical error. We also need careful on sentence structure. A well written & lucid article will give special attention to the readers.

    I generally don’t use any tool to check grammatical error. But after reading your post, it seems I need to give more priority on it.

    Its also nice if I win the giveaway. Merry Christmas 🙂

    • Profile photo of Vinay Kachhara

      Vinay Kachhara

      December 21, 2014 at 9:37 am

      Hi Ahsan,

      You are absolutely right that bloggers should be concerned and careful about their writing and posts. It does affect their SEO and rankings are we have discussed in the related forum on the ABC.

      I think you should try and use any online proofreading service. There are plenty free ones around, or you may take the Grammarly free trial offer and see it that makes a difference to you.

      Thanks for visiting and sharing your thoughts and all the best for winning the giveaway. Merry Christmas to you too!

  19. Profile photo of Larry Frank

    Larry Frank

    December 21, 2014 at 10:39 am

    Hi Vinay,
    Perfect revuew! Grammarly is such a nice tool, I’ve never heard of it before, but I think it is essential for every blogger and writers too, this will surely make our works perfect.

    Thanks for sharing, and a merry Xmas 🙂

    • Profile photo of Vinay Kachhara

      Vinay Kachhara

      December 21, 2014 at 12:29 pm

      Hi Larry,

      Absolutely, a proofreader is a basic necessity of a blogger, and Grammarly is very helpful being an online application. In fact, not only the posts but you can also make your comments grammatically correct with it.

      Glad you like the review and merry Christmas to you too!

  20. Monna Ellithorpe

    December 21, 2014 at 9:21 pm

    Hi Vinay and Harleena,

    Great post. I often wonder sometimes when I am writing a post or a story if I could possibly be drawing from something I have already read or written. It sounds like this would take care of that problem as you write. I will have to go check it out. Thanks for sharing such a great review on this product.

  21. Joy Healey

    December 22, 2014 at 6:03 am

    Hi Vinay,

    You’re right – I really hate blog posts / articles where there are so many mistakes you just can’t concentrate on the sense of the article.

    In fact, if it’s really bad, I just won’t visit that blog any more. There are too many excellent blogs “out there” to waste time on a blog where the author doesn’t even afford his/her readers the common courtesy of providing a grammatically correct reading experience.

    We all make mistakes – I usually spot mine in comments just as I hit the Post button! But consistently badly written posts show a lack of professionalism and respect for readers.

    So Grammarly sound an excellent resource. The plagiarism tool is excellent for anyone who has guest authors.

    Thanks for your comprehensive review and I hope the tool will be more widely used.

    Joy

  22. Matex

    December 22, 2014 at 1:46 pm

    This is so awesome, I feel like i just entered an Online Library whereby there are too many things to take time and study/Read about on Aha-now, i have been using Grammarly for a long time and it’s been an awesome experience I special recommend it for anybody who wants to be an exceptional error free web writer and book writers.

  23. Profile photo of Ikechi Awazie

    Ikechi Awazie

    December 23, 2014 at 10:24 pm

    Hi Vinay

    What a great review. I have heard of Grammarly but I have never used it. Grammatical errors aren’t nice at all and they can make reading unbearable if they are not curtailed. So it is nice to know that this app can help in correcting grammatical structures and spellings.

    I think from your review, this is a fine piece of app which I will definitely check out. Thanks for sharing. Have a nice day.

  24. Profile photo of Rohan Chaubey

    Rohan Chaubey

    December 24, 2014 at 6:36 pm

    Hi Vinay sir,

    Nice review. 🙂

    I guess a human can by mistake ignore some errors in writing but a software would hardly fail to find flaws.

    Grammarly sounds like an amazing software and its compatibility with the Microsoft office Suite is an added advantage. 🙂

    Thank you Vinay sir for writing this review which clearly describes Grammarly’s great features. 😀

    – Rohan Chaubey.

  25. Profile photo of Vernon Layne

    Vernon Layne

    December 27, 2014 at 1:52 am

    Hi Vinay,

    Thanks for this awesome recommendation because I learned the hard way that proper grammar is a religion. Through some unpleasant comments when I first started blogging I began to see how much it meant to readers. I made it my responsibility to learn it and do better.

    This will be the best late Christmas gift I will buy myself.:)

    Although Grammarly will improve our writing I also hope it teaches us the rules along the way. I find it interesting today how it all comes together and how different rules applies to different applications.

    I once wrote an article for another community and the whole article was used by someone else. My stomach just turned at the thought of it. All I can remember is how much time and creativity I put into it. It’s the worse feeling a writer can experience so I support checking for plagiarism.

    I can’t wait to start using it!

    Vinay Happy New Year to you and your family!




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Read more posts in the category: Reviews




Grammarly Review With A Free Giveaway For You

by Vinay Kachhara time to read: 9 min