Ergotron Review: WorkFit-A Sit Stand Workstation

Complete review of Ergotron sit-stand workstation and its health benefits

- | 44 Aha! comments | Posted in category: Reviews

Ergotron WorkFit-A Sit-Stand Review

Are you an excessive computer user? Does your job require you to sit and work for long hours using your computer or laptop?

If yes, then first you need to read this review on Ergotron Sit-Stand Workstation! Also, you should read this post by Harleena where she talks about the dangers of sitting and the benefits of standing.

The verdict is clear – you should stand more and sit less. That’s because sitting is the new smoking!

But how can you make that possible? When you work on a computer, you have to sit because you work on a sitting desk.

If you have a standing desk, then while working you can just stand, and not sit. Now, I know many of you would not like to stand for long hours, especially when you have to work.

No worries. As there is a solution to every problem, you can also stand more and sit less while working on your computer.

The answer is the Ergotron Sit-Stand Workstation. This is your sit-to-stand solution that makes it possible for you to sit as well as stand while working, whenever you feel like doing so.

Harleena gave a pretty good description of this equipment in the previous post along with an impressive demo video.

I’m taking the next step to review the Ergotron WorkFit-A Sit-Stand Workstation that we received from Ergotron.

Before accepting the review unit, we made it clear that we would be honest with our review. So, I have some positive as well as negative aspects to share with you about this sit to stand working solution.

Note: This product does not come with the computer accessories as shown in the image like the monitor, keyboard, mouse etc. You only get a workstation with a stand where you can mount these computer accessories.

This is a descriptive review that includes the installation process. So those who are short of time and just want to know my personal experiences and views about the Ergotron WorkFit-A workstation, can click here to jump over to that section.

Probably, you’d then like to go through the entire post. So, why not do it now! 🙂

Review of Ergotron WorkFit-A Sit-Stand Workstation

(Ergotron WorkFit-A with Suspended Keyboard, Single LD (24-390-026))

The sit-stand workstation that I’m reviewing here is little different from the one you saw in the video in Harleena’s earlier post.

You’ll understand once you explore the Ergotron website, which showcases many variations and types of workstations.

In this post, I’m reviewing a particular model of the WorkFit-A series, one with a worksurface and suspended keyboard. You can use only one light duty monitor with this model.

There are many other models also in this series as you can see on the Ergotron website.

I’m going to make this a three-part review post.

  • The first part focuses on unboxing and getting to know the components of the sit-stand workstation.
  • The second part explains the entire assembling and installation procedure in detail.
  • The third and final part is based on my personal experiences of using this sit-stand workstation.

Okay, so we are going to start from the basics. The first step is to open the boxes.

Unboxing the Sit-Stand WorkFit Unit

We received one huge box along with one small box, which is optional (It contains an attachment for laptop that needs to be ordered additionally at an extra/additional cost).

The big piece was about a little less than 3 feet in length, 2 feet in width, and about 1 feet in depth.

The two boxes together weighed about 21.5 kg (That’s about 47 lbs).
WorkFit Workstation BoxesOpen the big box. Keep it on the floor horizontally so that you can view the Ergotron logo upright on the outside of the box, which means that the side to open is on the top.

The contents of the box are laid out in 3 layers separated by thermocol packaging pieces.

In the first layer, you’ll find one worksurface and some tools along with the instruction manual.
Sit-Stand Workstation Unboxing
The second layer has the main components.

It has the sturdy arm along with the clamp that weighs about 8 Kg. This is what bears the entire load and makes the maneuvering possible.

Also included are a monitor riser, monitor pivot, and keyboard tray support bracket.

The third layer has the keyboard tray.

However, if you are going to order a different model, you might have less or more things.

The unboxing is complete and it takes about 15 minutes if you do it slowly. Now, we move on to the major part.

Assembling and Installing Your Ergotron WorkFit-A Workstation

The first thing I did was to go through the instruction manual. It is depicted with illustrations explaining about the installation process.

However, personally I find that the instruction manual they have online is better than the printed one I got along with the workstation unit.

Before we start, have a look at the before and after picture of the installation we carried out at home.
Before and After Installation of Workstation
I’m going to divide the entire assembling and installation process into simple steps that will be easy to follow.

Important: You need to have two main tools ready with you – a crosshead screwdriver and a hex socket wrench before you start.
Tools for Workstation Installation

These were all I needed besides the tools that came along with the Ergotron workstation package. You can use the ones that you’ve over at your place if they serve the purpose.

Step 1: Decide Where to Install

This is crucial because there are certain procedural changes for different types of tables. You may have a table of –

  1. Breadth of about 2 feet or less
  2. Breadth between 2 to 2½ feet

Also, check whether the table you want to use has a grommet hole or you would prefer using a clamp (I used the clamp).

Illustration of clamp and grommet and desk sizes

Make sure the width of the “tabletop” is about an inch or two and is made up of a strong and sturdy material like wood or metal that can bear the load of the sit-stand workstation and the computer components.

If you have a grommet hole on the tabletop, ensure it’s about an inch or two in diameter and located in a position as depicted in the instruction manual.

Note: Please make sure you have space all around the table to move the entire workstation to its left and right.

Step 2: Clamping the Arm

You need to be careful with the arm as it is a bit heavy and you might need a helping hand. It has got the clamp attached to it at the base.
Workstation arm with clamp
If you want to install the arm in a grommet hole, you need to remove the clamp and make some minor changes as instructed in the manual.

All you have to do is to position the tabletop edge into the groove of the clamp, push the clamp against the edge and tighten the screw at the bottom of the clamp.

Workstation clamp on tabletop

Note: Make sure that the clamp is fitted tightly because if it remains lose, the entire unit can become unstable and fall. Screws must be tightened at all stages to keep the product secure.

Step 3: Expanding the Arm Extension

Since the arm comes factory-ready to be installed on a 2 feet wide table, I had to change the orientation of the arm to make it fit on my table that is about two and a half feet (30”) in breadth.

If your table is 2 feet in breadth, then you can skip this step.

Workstation arm rotateWorkstation arm push down

You need to rotate the upper part of the arm at the base as shown in the image through 180 degrees.

The resultant arm now faces the opposite direction but the direction of the base remains unchanged.

This was not easy to do as I found the arm too tight and unmovable. So, what I did was to bend the upper arm and then rotate it – this was easier.

Once rotated, you need to unscrew and unclamp the arm so you can put it on the table facing down as show in the image below.

Unattaching the clamp of the workstation

Just remove the four screws that are shown in the inset to un-attach the clamp. Then you have to turn the arm 180 degrees and reattach the clamp to the other side of the arm base.

Finally, the arm is extended and it is ready for a 2½ feet wide table.

This is how the expansion of the arm extension is shown in the instruction manual.

Expand arm of the workstation

While you are re-clamping the expanded arm onto your desk, you can also adjust the clamp according to the width of the tabletop.

Adjusting the clamp of the workstation

Just unscrew the screws marked by red arrows to re-insert and screw in other slots marked in blue. You will need to do that if your tabletop width is thin.

Note: It is imperative to ensure that the mounting surface is strong enough to handle the mounted equipment.

Step 4: Preparing the Monitor and Keyboard stand

Take out the monitor riser and the keyboard support tray bracket from the box.

Make the monitor riser stand vertically on its base and join the extending arm of the keyboard support tray bracket to it such that it forms an “L” shape with a protruding tail.

Sit-stand workstation combination fixed

After joining both of them, put the combination upside down.  Find the location as shown in the image to insert two screws as instructed in the manual, and tighten them using a 4mm hex wrench.

This combination of monitor and keyboard stand is now ready to be fixed to the arm of the workstation that you already clamped on the tabletop.

Step 5: Putting the Workstation Altogether

Below is the before and after image of fixing the monitor riser and keyboard tray support bracket on to the arm of the workstation.

Combination fixed with the workstation arm

Tighten the two screws by turning the combination to one side, so you can easily use the screwdriver.

Only three things remain to be attached – the keyboard tray, worksurface, and the monitor pivot.

  1. Keyboard Tray – Place it as shown in the image and tighten two screws at the bottom.
  2. Worksurface – You will need to use the screwdriver as shown in the image to tighten two screws.
  3. Monitor pivot – Use the 4mm Allen wrench to tighten one screw with hex socket.

Sit-stand workstation finally fixed together

Your sit-stand workstation is ready now!

All you need to do is place your computer accessories and monitor on it.

Health Tips: Heart rate increases by 10 beats per min while standing with 50 extra calories burned per hour. More reasons you need to stand and work by using the Ergotron Sit-Stand Workstation!

Step 6: Mounting the Monitor and Computer Accessories

Placing the keyboard and the mouse on the keyboard tray is no big deal. Furthermore, you also have velcro strips in your toolkit to stick the keyboard onto the keyboard tray.

You can then fold the keyboard tray whenever not in use and that creates more space for you.

To mount your LCD or LED monitor up to 24 inches size, the first step is to detach the base, which can be done manually. The image below shows you the position of the screw that needs to be opened.

Monitor fixed on the sit-stand workstation

Next, you need to fix the free rotating monitor pivot by inserting a screw in the upper right corner. You can skip this step if you want to rotate your monitor between its horizontal and vertical positions.

Lastly, use four screws to fix the back of the monitor to the monitor pivot as shown in the image. Please note that you can only use those monitors that have the threaded holes at the back for wall mounting purpose.

Health Tip: No leg movement and less fluid intake risks the formation of clot in your legs. This can eventually lead to cardiac arrest.

Step 7: Attaching and Managing the Cables

Finally, you attach the display and power cords to the monitor, carry them along the body of the arm, and pass them through the tunnel provision provided near the base of the arm.

You also have provisions to hook and tie the cables on the monitor riser and the arm.

Wiring of the Sit-Stand Workstation

One thing you need to make sure is that your cords and cables are lengthy enough to reach your computer unit.

Luckily, my monitor display and power cords were long enough. If yours are not, then you can order the longer cables along with your sit-stand workstation.

I had to purchase only two USB cables to extend the cables of the keyboard and mouse. However, if you’re using the wireless keyboard and mouse, then you don’t have to worry about them.

That’s it. This is the end of the installation of the Ergotron WorkFit-A Sit-Stand workstation. Even if you have some other models, many of the steps followed here might be the same for them.

The entire unboxing, assembling, and installation process took me about three hours (including the time taken in clicking the pics!) But, if I had read a post like this or watched any installation video, it might have taken less time.

Note: If you need help, you can always call the Ergotron experts for installation, set-up, and maintenance services.

Here is a video that demonstrates the entire installation process. There is no narration or dialogues as everything is self-explanatory, especially after you’ve read this post.

Ergotron WorkFit-A Installation ~ YouTube Video

Ergonomic Tip: Your keyboard should be at the height of your elbow for ergonomic computing, so accordingly adjust the height of your desk, chair, and footrest.

Mounting the Laptop

You can also use the WorkFit-A sit-stand workstation if you have a laptop or notebook by ordering the additional LX Notebook Tray, just like we did.

All you need to do is that instead of mounting the monitor, you mount the notebook tray onto the monitor pivot.
Installation of notebook tray
The notebook tray looks like as shown in the image below.

Notebook tray mounted on workstation
You can place your laptop/notebook in the tray and also adjust the length of the L-shaped rods (meant to stop the laptop from falling) to suit the size of your laptop/notebook.

Finally you can fix the laptop/notebook to the notebook tray with the help of Velcro strips and pins provided in the toolkit.

The final set up looks like as shown in the image below.

Sit-stand Notebook Workstation
This was the installation of the Ergotron WorkFit-A sit-stand workstation on a two and a half feet wide table. I also installed it on a table of 2 feet breadth.

Here’s how it looks:
WorkFit-A Sit-stand Workstation

Health Tip: To Reduce Fatigue, do the following
Breathe deeply through your nose.
Blink often to avoid dry eyes.
Take a break every 2 to 3 minutes after every 20 minutes of work, or 15 to 20 minutes every 2 hours.

 

Final Review of The Ergotron WorkFit-A Sit-Stand Workstation

The assembling and installation of the workstation was surely a tedious job. If you are doing it for the first time, it will take you some time.

But then, it’s a one-time job, so doesn’t matter if it takes some time. It’s better to go slow and be sure about every step so that the unit is set up well once and for all.

I’d not rate the entire procedure as an easy job. Some people might even need professional help to install the workstation at their place. But if I can do it, you can too!

My Personal Experiences Using the Sit-Stand Workstation

I’ve used the Ergotron WorkFit-A sit-stand workstation for over a month and I’ve observed and analyzed it from all aspects.

The good personal experiences were that I could:

  • sit or stand whenever I wanted to and still work on the computer
  • easily move the workstation in any direction and even swing it away when not in use
  • place essential things like mobile, notepad, or my coffee mug on the worksurface and have access to them in any direction or position
  • fold the keyboard tray when not in use or when using the laptop
  • adjust the monitor height and angle easily
  • follow all the ergonomics rules for healthy and efficient working
  • have access to the entire table without my computer occupying even a bit of it

Also, remember that you need to adjust the angles and settings of the equipment as per your requirement and use.

For instance, initially the workstation used to keep falling as I lifted it. This needs a little adjustment of tightening a nut and now I can raise the workstation to the required height and keep it there.

The instruction manual guides you on how to go about making the various adjustments.

The only negative aspects were that the workstation looked bulky and working on the laptop was difficult if you wanted to write long while having it mounted on the notebook tray.

Ergotron WorkFit-A 24-390-026 sit-stand workstation inuse

Apart from my personal experiences of using the Ergotron WorkFit-A sit-stand workstation, here are some pros and cons from a general point of view:

PROS

1.No Posture Problems: My work requires long hours of sitting. Even though I’ve an ergonomic chair, it was not possible to maintain a good sitting posture all the time.

However, with the sit-stand workstation, I can easily get rid of the problems of bad posture and avoid getting tired sitting or suffering form back pain by standing up and working. More so, the workstation enforces the right way of sitting and working on a computer desk.

2. No More Lethargy: Now that I use the sit-stand workstation, I tend to stand more and sit less. This gives me more time and reason to move around while working.

Since it is easy to maneuver the workstation, I keep changing its direction and my standing position. I feel more energetic and ready to move as compared to working while sitting, which usually made me feel more like in a state of inertia.

3. Better Working Experience: Whenever I want to use my desk as a writing desk, I can just move away the entire workstation to one side. I then have access to the entire table.

I also don’t have to purchase a computer table with a keyboard tray. I used my existing writing desk. The workstation gives me a clean and clear working space that gives me a better feeling while working.

4. Increased Productivity: Blogging is no easy task. I’ve to sometimes extend my working hours and reduce my sleep time. I know that is not a good thing to do, but sometimes blogging is too demanding.

At such times, I usually unintentionally doze off while sitting on the chair. But with the sit-stand workstation, I make sure to stand and work to ensure I’m fully active and productive.

5. More Fitness: Since I started using the Ergotron sit-stand workstation, I feel fit. I somehow find more time to engage in fitness enhancing activities.

Now, as I wait and get some time in between the operations of my computer activities, I love doing push-ups against the wall, stretch my body, do some floor exercises and squats, or workaround with the dumbles.

6. More Healthy: I lost about 1kg of weight in the previous one month after I started using the sit and stand workstation.

Though there can be various reasons for losing weight, but I feel that my standing more, moving around, and performing fitness activities while standing and working has a big role to play.

Overall, I’ve an enhanced feeling of wellness. I can experience the positive physiological changes that make me psychologically more positive and happy.

Also, at any time, I can convert my sit-stand workstation into a treadmill computer desk. All I have to do is lift the workstation and put it above the treadmill. The keyboard tray can lie over the treadmill front portion.

Note: Your WorkFit-A workstation is highly flexible. It has six degrees of flexibility as shown in the image below.

Workstation flexibility of movement

CONS

Honestly, I did not find any fault with the sit-stand workstation unit that I received from Ergotron. It is robust, steady, working perfectly fine, and looks elegant as well as sophisticated – definitely well-engineered!

Now, this is not something to blame on the workstation, but my table width is not as per the specifications.

As a result, the workstation protrudes a little, such that the keyboard tray lies farther from the tabletop edge than it should.

So, you need to take care that your table should be as per the specifications of the workstation, else the workstation would look bulky.
Proper usage of sit-stand workstation

Working Tips: Follow these tips for the proper working on a computer desk while sitting or standing.
Height > Position the top of the screen slightly below your eye level. Position the keyboard at  your elbow’s height keeping your wrists flat.
Distance > Position the screen at an arm’s length from your face—at least 20” (508mm). Position the keyboard close enough to create a 90˚ angle with the elbow.
Angle > Tilt the screen to eliminate glare. Tilt the keyboard back 10° so that your wrists remain flat.

CONCLUSION

I strongly recommend the Ergotron WorkFit-A Sit-Stand Workstation.  It is an added asset and definitely a facilitator of health and happiness in life.

It helps to decrease leading a sedentary lifestyle and improve your life by keeping the lifestyle diseases at bay.

I totally agree with some of the facts as mentioned in the Ergotron workstation manual that it helps:

  • Burn extra calories
  • Tone muscles
  • Improve posture
  • Increase blood flow
  • Ramp up metabolism

No doubt the Ergotron WorkFit-A Sit-Stand Workstation promotes healthy working behavior and habits. It is value for money and definitely worth the investment.

You can read more about the product and its specifications on the Ergotron website or on Amazon.

Here is my final rating score for the Ergotron WorkFit-A with Suspended Keyboard, Single LD (24-390-026) :

Equipment Quality5/5

Assembling & Installation4.5/5

Usage5/5

Value for Money5/5

Overall, it’s a must-have utility for excessive computer users and gets my full appreciation and marks. 🙂

One lucky Aha!NOW Blog Community member will win one FREE Ergotron WorkFit-A Sit-Stand workstation by virtue of topping the ABC Leaderboard by accumulating the most AhaPoints.

Look out for the results of the giveaway we held recently, which will be announced on 3rd November.

But don’t be disheartened if you’re not the winner because there are many cheap deals out there on Amazon (Aff link).

You not only get the Ergotron workstations on discounted rates, but you may also get the option to pay in six interest-free installments on purchase from Amazon, if your credit card is approved.

I hope you liked this review, and if you’re already a proud owner of the Ergotron WorkFit sit-stand workstation, I’m sure you’d  be able to relate to this post. 🙂

Share Your thoughts:

What impresses you most about the WorkFit sit-stand workstations from Ergotron? If you’re already a user, then share your installation and working experience, and if not, would you want to buy one?

Photo Credit: Ergotron

RELATED POSTS:

Is Your Sitting Posture Correct

Warning: Sitting Is The New Smoking

Why Use Standing Desks Or Sit to Stand Workstation

Disclosure: I’ve used my affiliate link in this post and I’ll make a small commission off the purchase price at no additional cost to you.



Show Comments

44 Comments - Read and share thoughts

  1. Raaja Anandhan

    October 30, 2014 at 9:28 am

    Hi Vinay Sir,

    It’s a long and great write up about the review of ergotron. Stand More and Sit Less is really good concept for excessive computer user. Even problogger needs to use this, i think, Harleena Mam already bought this product before posting this review here. Because she is a dedicated pro blogger.

    I will surely share this to my friends to purchase this product.

    Thanks for sharing this.

    • Vinay Kachhara

      October 31, 2014 at 3:28 pm

      Hi Raaja,

      I’m glad you like the review and the product as well. “Stand more sit less” actually has to be the “mantra” for all excessive computer users and a “sit-stand workstation” should be a “must” for everybody.

      I’d like top clear that Harleena did not buy this product but she received it to write a unbiased and honest review on it. Before writing the review, I actually used it for one good month. But you’re right that even the probloggers would greatly relish this product.

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts and this review with your friends.

  2. Ravi Chahar

    October 30, 2014 at 1:36 pm

    Hi Vinay,

    You have described about Ergotron workfit sit-stand workstation in a perfect way. If people want to use it for them work as to keep their computer then it would be great to prefer the steps shown by you.
    All the photos give clear guidance as how to fix it on a table or just to fit it with a clamp. I have seen the video and it seems really cool. People can learn from it.
    I like the way you have guided about the height adjustments. People should know it because most of computer users don’t put their keyboard on 90 degree. As you have mentioned above that keyboard should be placed according to the height of your elbow.

    Thanks for this clear guidance. Hopefully it will help many people who want to buy this product.

    Have a great week ahead.:)
    ~Ravi

    • Vinay Kachhara

      October 31, 2014 at 3:42 pm

      Hi Ravi,

      When I set out to install and use the Ergotron workstation, I did not find any explanatory guide to make it easy for me. So, I decided to create one guide that explained each step and then add the review to it. I’d be happy if this post helps the new workstation buyers.

      Yes, the installation is pretty cool and not that difficult, but then it depends from person to person. Those with technical or mechanical bent of mind or skills will find it easy and interesting, while other may have a tough time understanding everything. But I’m sure the images in this post will clear the picture for them.

      The ergonomic chair itself won’t be beneficial enough if the person does not follow the right ergonomic posture instructions. The idea is to put the least strain on the muscles and balance the body on the bones. If you loose the correct balance or the posture, you’ll suffer from pain.

      This product is great, but I’ll be happy even if this post helps convince people the importance of standing more and sitting less.

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

  3. Ahsan

    October 30, 2014 at 10:36 pm

    Hello Vinay Kachhara,

    You have described well about Ergotron workfit sit-stand workstation. Now a days most of people work on computer. So we need proper table & chair which will fit our eyesight & sitting position. You added lots of picture to give proper guideline how to use. I think it will get good market.

    Have a blessing week 🙂

    • Vinay Kachhara

      October 31, 2014 at 4:26 pm

      Hi Ahsan,

      Glad that you liked the way this post was composed. Pictures are worth a thousand words and when it comes to installations, they really do help a lot.

      You’re absolutely right that you need the right chair, desk, and the correct posture for healthy working. I hope others to will benefit from the information in this post.

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

  4. Neamat Tawadrous

    October 30, 2014 at 11:21 pm

    Hi Vinay,

    That was a great and detailed review where you covered everything from A-Z and it will sure answer any question that may rise up regarding this Ergotron workfit sit-stand workstation.

    I think after reading this reveiw, it is a must buy workstation. I gained lots of weight because of the time I spend sitting working on my computer and this is a great way to work and get some movement going.LOL

    Thanks Vinay for sharing this review. I really appreciate the effort you put into preparing such a review. Enjoy the rest of your week and the weekend ahead.

    Be Blessed,

    Neamat

    • Vinay Kachhara

      October 31, 2014 at 4:32 pm

      Hi Neamat,

      This was the idea behind writing this review post in such a manner. I wanted this post to become an installation guide as well as a review.

      I highly recommend that you stand more or get up frequently and move around even if you don’t use a sit-to-stand workstation. It will greatly help you.

      I actually enjoyed preparing this review post because I was sure that I’ll be creating a true value post that would help many. I’m glad that you liked it.

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

  5. Chery Schmidt

    October 30, 2014 at 11:42 pm

    Hello Vinay,

    Yikes! This makes me CRAZY! Sitting is the new smoking! NO NO Please NO! I have been smoke free since Jan, almost a year so this is a hard one for me to digest..

    I am going to have to either get me this Ergotron workfit sit-stand workstation or find a way to get me off my but.

    I have been thinking about this since I read this here.

    Well now for you review, Wow looks to me like you will need patience of a saint to put this thing together..Good thing for us we have this post to follow along with..

    Great job, thanks for sharing.. Chery :))

    • Vinay Kachhara

      October 31, 2014 at 4:42 pm

      Hi Chery,

      First, let me congratulate you on being smoke-free! This is no easy task and I’m happy that you’ve been able to do so since the beginning of the year. That’s wonderful!

      However, the sitting disease is said to have worse consequences than smoking. I’m sorry to put it this way but you can read the previous two posts on sitting and standing on this blog, and I’m sure you’ll understand why I say so.

      This workstation will greatly help you, but even if you don’t have it, you can still help yourself by getting up often and moving around in regular intervals. Having said that, the body structure, composition, and reaction etc. is different for different people, so you need to see and try what suits you.

      The installation of the workstation isn’t that difficult and you can always get technical help, but since this is a one-time job (if you aren’t going to change your working desk), it’s worth spending some time on it, right?

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

  6. Yvonne I. Wilson

    October 31, 2014 at 12:35 am

    Hi Vinay

    This is a great review and I thank you for your honesty in sharing your experience with this product as well as giving the pros and cons. As much as we would like to think, there is nothing in this life that we will ever find perfection with.

    What I love most about the Ergotron is the fact that it allows flexibility, it is possible to improve your health and improve blood flow throughout the entire body and one do not always have to sit but can stand an do their work in a cool enjoyable fashion.

    I have trouble all the time though in assembling things so as much as it appears to be a good product to invest in, I can tell this is not an easy one to set up, hence it may be a deterring factor to me getting one myself. [that’s just me preferring not to have the bother] 🙂

    Thanks for sharing with us.

    • Vinay Kachhara

      October 31, 2014 at 4:57 pm

      Hi Yvonne,

      You’re so right that we need to look at the positive aspects because perfection is not possible. And I see too many positive aspects of this workstation.

      Every word that I’ve written is true and every picture is real. Personally, I really like this equipment, even though my working table isn’t really up to it (it’s smaller in depth, but still the workstation works great!).

      Through my personal experiences I can confidently say that I love using the workstation because its facilitates a great way of working. Now, as writing this comment, I stood up and continued typing without any break in the continuity and I feel my legs so relaxed after being in a tensed position while sitting. As you point out, regular blood flow is important and the muscles need to be stretched frequently and the bone joints need frequent movement, all to help make your working healthy.

      Regarding the installation of this workstation, I agree that it might be a bit cumbersome to you if you don’t like assembling things and have trouble doing so. In that case, you can always ask for technical help from Ergotron. Else, the video in this post will be of great help, where you can see the installation is carried out with great ease.

      Also, there are other simpler versions of the workstation that require less assembling and are simpler too. The ones for laptops are the easiest ones I guess.

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

  7. Ikechi Awazie

    October 31, 2014 at 4:14 am

    I love the Ergotron WorkFit-A Sit Stand Workstation Review. I was thrilled by the pictures and I guess that every blogger needs such equipment. Definitely need to share this with everyone.

    • Vinay Kachhara

      October 31, 2014 at 5:00 pm

      Hi Ikechi,

      I’m so glad you liked the review and enjoyed the pictures.

      I agree with you that every blogger needs a sit-to-stand workstation, especially those who work using desktop computers.

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts and this post with others.

  8. Mi Muba

    October 31, 2014 at 6:49 pm

    Hi Vinay

    Words are insufficient to appreciate the homework you did before writing this review. No doubt many of the images are company-made but the description you put with each image shows how much you have researched to narrate in easy to understand terms.

    The perfection of the review gives an impression as if a company technician was sitting with you while you were writing this review.

    People related to any field of information technology must adjust with their changing physical requirements especially after crossing 40. It is good to maintain posture while sitting but lengthy sitting in whatever posture is not good for health. So the only option is to divide working schedule in two positions of standing and sitting.

    I think offer of installment is actually reflection of the understanding of seller about buyers mentality. People usually buy a solution when they suffer from a problem and get its negative effects. That is why seller has made a wonderful decision of offering it on installments also.

    Thanks a lot for sharing this more than praise-worthy review.

    • Vinay Kachhara

      October 31, 2014 at 8:43 pm

      Hi Mi Muba,

      Those are very kind words and I’m honored that you think like that about my work. Writing about the installation process was easy for me because I had first-hand experience doing it. And reviewing it wasn’t difficult either because I just had to write what I felt and experienced personally. So, I really didn’t have to research any other source other than the product instruction manual (from where I got the illustrations and tidbits of health information) and the company website.

      After reading your comment, I counted the number of images that I used in this post (which I didn’t do earlier). I used 25 images here, and out of them only 5 are company-made as you can call them, which comprise of the 4 illustrations and the one featured image. So, the rest of the images are the ones that I personally clicked while installing the workstation.

      It’s good to know that you liked the review post. And I agree with you that people should really get serious and concerned about their working style and posture, not only after crossing 40 but even well before. Actually, the posture training starts well early in the childhood, and that teaching or learning is carried forward as a permanent habit, unless the person makes conscious effort to change or improve. But the sit-stand workstation is great in the sense that it facilitates and provides easy and practical options to change your working style. And the only way to have healthy working is by standing more and sitting less (I’m writing this while standing).

      I think its nice of Amazon to provide the installment offer. The other thing is that there are many less expensive workstations too and they get much cheaper when taken in installments.

      Thanks so much for sharing your wonderful thoughts and for all the kind words.

  9. Philip Verghese Ariel

    October 31, 2014 at 11:44 pm

    Hi Vinay,
    What a wonderful review!
    Nice to read the review and of course we got lot of information on this “Sitting” subject from Harleena’s earlier post. Sitting is the new Smoking… I posted a comment there and raised a question! I am yet to get a reply, usually you attend all comments, but there after Adrienne Smith s comment’s reply you left the page! LOL
    In this post also you mentioned in the tweet piece: “The verdict is clear – you should stand more and sit less.” my question is how much time standing! and how less time sitting! Anyways all depends on the person;s health! and of course I am worried will this continuous standing will create another problem! I mean side effects LOL
    Thanks Vinay for this elaborate review with all pics and illustration and video, Indeed you did a good research and did an excellent homework, Keep it up.
    May you both have a great and profitable weekend>
    ~ Phil

    • Vinay Kachhara

      November 1, 2014 at 12:45 am

      Hi Phil,

      Glad that you like the review.

      Sorry that we couldn’t attend to your comment on the previous post about the dangers of sitting. Things move very fast for us at Aha!NOW, and sometimes its not possible to look back and reply to all the comments of the previous posts.

      However, I’d like to answer the query you made here. First, I agree with you that it all depends on the person’s age and health. Those who are not well, weak, or too old should obviously sit more.

      The previous posts and this post too are targeted to the young audience of the age group 20 – 45 or 50, who generally spend more time working continuously on computers. Not that others don’t sit and work as much, but most affected persons fall in this age group. So, if you’re above 50 or nearing 60, then definitely you need to sit more. If you’re above 60 or nearing 70, then I think you’d be better off sitting only.

      But then it all depends on the person’s body composition, work temperament, and personal choices. So, there are no set rules of how much time one should stand or sit. You’ve to assess or see your body’s comfort limits and not go beyond. Of course, continuous standing can create problems, that is why a sit-stand solution works best as it facilitates a mixture of sitting and standing work positions.

      I hope you get the answer to your question. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

  10. Philip Verghese Ariel

    November 1, 2014 at 1:51 am

    Hi Vinay,
    What a pleasant surprise!
    What quick response!
    Thank you so much for attending my query!
    Yes, as i mentioned it all depends on ones health.
    HI HI I am in the second category I need to do a balancing act LOL
    Anyways thank you so much Vinay for your detailed reply
    Keep writing
    Have Happy Weekend
    ~ PHilip

    • Vinay Kachhara

      November 1, 2014 at 10:39 am

      Phil, I loved to answer your query. I’m sure you’ll make best use of all the information on the ways to incorporate healthy working in our life.
      Thanks for commenting on Aha!NOW.
      Have a great weekend yourself.

  11. Swadhin Agrawal

    November 1, 2014 at 10:30 am

    Hello Vinay sir,
    congrats on this set up and I hope it is already benefiting your health. 🙂
    Coming to the review, This is a real honest review and you have provided much value by helping us to understand a complete set up.
    As far as I know no reviews provide this type of value to the readers(might be my knowledge is limited).

    There is a lot of extra tips (yes I love the ones you gave on the boxes).

    I initially thought it would be a bulky one with clamping in the flooring of the house. Lol it isn’t that though. It is so nice to see it fitted on the desk and that can be made portable to other rooms if need arises (if at all).

    Thank you for providing the value review posts usually deserve and are not given by many. 🙂

    • Vinay Kachhara

      November 1, 2014 at 10:44 am

      Hi Swadhin,

      It is definitely better working on the WorkFit workstation. I do feel and observe healthy changes in my ways of working.

      I’m glad you like the review and thank you for all your kind words.

      Glad that I could help you dispel some myths and realize that the installation of the workstation isn’t really that difficult and the whole thing is quite portable.

      Thanks for visiting and sharing your thoughts. Have a great weekend!

  12. Maxwell Ivey

    November 1, 2014 at 11:31 am

    HI Vinay; thanks for this detailed evaluation of the sit stand work station. I knew you would be honest but even i am impressed with the thoroughness of your post from unpacking to installing to using. I noticed you mentioned using it with a laptop. that would be how i would most likely use it. also, i am 6 ft 4. how tall are you, and do you think my height would effect the desirability of this work station. I have a 13 inch macbook pro. and i know what you mean about back stiffness from sitting in one position too long. i have some arthritis in my back, so long time sitting results in me having trouble getting going after standing up again. It will take me several steps and some stretching to stand up straight again. also, did you try your camera with your laptop on the sit stand desk? I’m wondering if you have to change the angle of the camera. being blind i have gotten used to knowing where to position my laptop lid so the camera will be focused on my face. I’m glad to hear about the improved activity and better health as well as your losing about 2.5 pounds in a month just by changing your work habits with the new desk. thanks for reviewing this for us. I hope they appreciate your work as well. Take care my friend, Max

    • Vinay Kachhara

      November 1, 2014 at 12:20 pm

      Hi Max,

      I’m glad you like the detailed evaluation and review of the WorkFit-A workstation.

      Now for laptops, I believe Ergotron has a special workstation called WorkFit-P, Sit-Stand Workstation Platinum (Part Number: 24-408-227) that might suit your requirements. It would require much less assembly and installation time and efforts too, and would be much cheaper also than the WorkFit-A workstation reviewed in this post.

      Regarding the height to which the WorkFit-P could rise to, it depends on the height of your table too. I think the specifications on the Ergotron site mention that it can lift up to 20 inches. So, if your tabletop is at the height of about 30 inches, the total height of the workstation platform could be a little more than 4 feet. Now, you need to see what height are your elbows while standing – if they’re at 4 feet then you can use the WorkFit-P by stretching it to its maximum height.

      I never tried the camera on the laptop when I used the notebook tray as it didn’t occur to me at all so I don’t know, but I guess since WorkFit rises with you, your face and the laptop camera remain at the same distance, height, and angle. However, these are just the best guesses I can make and I’ll try if someone from Ergotron can provide expert answers to your questions.

      I think with your condition the sit-stand option might be better for you. And you lose more calories while standing than sitting so obviously one would lose calories and even weight while using the sit-stand workstation on a daily basis.

      I hope this helps and thanks for sharing your thoughts. Your appreciation matters most to me, and yes, the Ergotron representative that I’m in contact with did appreciate the post too. 🙂

  13. Oloyede Jamiu

    November 1, 2014 at 6:23 pm

    Hey Vinay and Harleena,

    Thank you for putting together an awesome review of Ergotron WorkFit-A Sit-Stand Workstation.

    This is the first time of hearing this useful equipment.

    People like me who spend more than 12 hours daily on PC would find the workstation useful.

    You have been able to give a great and detailed review of this tool.

    How i wish i have this tool to power up my blogging career.

    Take care and have a nice day ahead.

    -Oloyede Jamiu

    • Vinay Kachhara

      November 2, 2014 at 12:00 am

      Hi Oloyede,

      I’m glad I could make you aware of this option for healthy working, and that you liked it too.

      Definitely, this workstation is for people like us who have to sit in front of the computer or laptop. The ability to stand and work does help us a lot.

      Probably I’ll have more giveaways of such workstation in the future so you can stay tuned! Thanks for sharing your thoughts and have a great weekend yourself.

  14. Carol Amato

    November 1, 2014 at 8:25 pm

    Hi, Harleena and Vinay,

    Oh my goodness, that Ergotron workfit-a-sit stand work station is awesome!

    You are absolutely right, I should stand more and sit less– Most definitely.

    The thing is, I have a laptop and not a separate monitor and keyboard like in the picture, but I’m sure it can be used the same, just need to adjust.

    I really like the pictures that you provided, that is really helpful as I am a very visual person like so many others I know.

    Will show my husband this article as I am seriously considering purchasing this item. Thank you so much for sharing this in-depth review. It gives me all the information I need to make a purchase should I decide to do so.

    I hope you have a wonderful relaxing weekend.

    – Carol

    • Vinay Kachhara

      November 2, 2014 at 12:08 am

      Hi Carol,

      I’m glad you like the WorkFit workstation. Ergotron has a separate model of WorkFit for laptops, and I’ve mentioned about it in my reply to Maxwell’s comment. It’s called the WorkFit-P workstation and that is much cheaper and easier to install too.

      But you would certainly favor healthy working if you stand more and sit less. Great that you liked the pictures and that you’re considering to purchase this equipment.

      Glad I could help. Thanks for sharing your thoughts and have a great weekend yourself!

  15. Joy Healey

    November 1, 2014 at 8:28 pm

    Hi Vinay

    I hate to use the word awesome in case it gets me into spam LOL, but it really was an awesome post. You have really worked hard to put all that info together.

    At first I didn’t think it would be a post that was relevant to me, but how wrong I was!

    I’d really like one of these units because I KNOW that spending so many hours slumped in front of the computer is bad for me. Let’s hope Santa might be good to me LOL.

    Thanks for bringing this to our attention.

    Joy

    • Vinay Kachhara

      November 2, 2014 at 12:12 am

      Hi Joy,

      Thanks for the appreciation and I’m so glad you like the post. Yes, it was hard work but I guess it paid off with your compliment. 🙂

      This is definitely a must-have equipment for us bloggers and excessive computer users. We might have another workstation giveaway in the future, so in case Santa misses you, you can count on Aha!NOW. 🙂

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts and have a wonderful weekend.

  16. Dr. Nicolas Rao

    November 1, 2014 at 9:48 pm

    Dear Vinay,
    I read about the Ergotron earlier on your blog and was excited by the whole prospect, being a diabetic with some neuropathy in my toes already.
    The need for circulation and movement is tantamount in my case, spending hours now and having spent the same in the field of medical transcription for over 10 years before retiring.
    I very happy to say that the idea is catching on.
    I do not know who came first but yesterday, October 31, 2014, the New Indian Express Indulge section carried an ad for a desk made by Ikea doing much the same thing.

    The Desk, its a table nothing more, adjusts to standing and sitting at a touch of a button.
    For a Mac mini with large independent monitor- its what I use its ideal as it will take all my units, the Mac mini, the DVD drive and all my auxiliary drives as well as sound system and speakers.

    While I still think Ergotron is a superb space saving idea, its interesting that the idea is catching on.

    A healthy attitude is beginning to prevail at last.
    Thank you for the post.
    Nick

    • Vinay Kachhara

      November 2, 2014 at 12:22 am

      Dear Nick,

      I recollect your comment on the previous post. Yes, the sit-to-stand option would really help you. It’s good that you are converging on the idea to own a standing solution, and I’d say that Ergotron WorkFit solution is definitely better from my personal experience.

      However, I guess with the description of your needs, I think you’re right about your inclination towards the Ikea sit-stand desk. Though such options are available with Ergotron too if you visit their website.

      We all need to be aware and concerned about healthier options of living and working as that’s one of the keys to bring happiness into life.

      I’m glad you like the post and thanks for sharing your thoughts. Have a great weekend!

  17. Atish Ranjan

    November 2, 2014 at 4:48 pm

    Sitting for longer kills and in my case it is like slow poison. I would be going to buy one very soon for me. Good review Vinay.

  18. Babanature Yakubu

    November 2, 2014 at 7:43 pm

    Hello Viney,
    This is a nice well done review…

    I haven’t use the eragon workstation before but from the very first time Haleena introduced it, i knew it would be a good asset. 🙂

    Thanks for sharing more light on the workstation. Do have a wonderful weekend…

  19. Sylviane Nuccio

    November 3, 2014 at 8:12 pm

    Hi Vinay,

    It’s no secret that sitting for long hours is not healthy, and the human body was never designed to work sitting on his bottom. It’s just one of those man-made world facts that was never intended by God, shall we say!

    I think this is a good idea, because one can use the computer while standing once in a while. I haven’t gotten one of those yet, but I do get up a lot and I walk and exercise on a daily basis, but that’s a great invention.

    Thanks for sharing.

  20. Angela McCall

    November 3, 2014 at 9:21 pm

    Wow Vinay…

    What a real detailed post from beginning to end. I would love to have one of these since by sitting too much really aches my butt. Seriously. That’s why sometimes, I used my tablet to read blogs in my bed coz at least in bed, I’m not sitting on my butt all day long but gives it a chance to relax.

    My husband is a R.N. and he tells me, “How can you sit for hours, I cannot stand it.” That’s why he’s a Nurse, he walks around a lot and hardly sits down. I think nursing got the most aerobic exercise. I recall when I was working as an Assistant Nurse, I hardly sit. I lost 30 lbs. quick. LOL

    Anyway,excellent detailed post. Hope you & Harleena have a nice weekend.

    Angela

  21. Kumar Gauraw

    November 3, 2014 at 9:30 pm

    Hi Vinay,

    I remember mentioning to Herleena that I have been working using a standing desk at my home and also at my office from the second half of last year 🙂

    I completely agree that a standing desk is way more healthy and way more energizing and compared with sitting all day long in front of this little laptop.

    However I did not use this kind of a standing desk. I just put a table on a table and has been working so far so good. But now I’m thinking that getting a flexible test like this one might even be more helpful as I can adjust height at will…

    Thank you for posting a detailed overview and sharing your testimonial of Ergotron WorkFit-A-Sit-Stand workstation.

    You have a wonderful day and I hope this desk still strong going into the next year as well!

    Regards,
    Kumar

  22. mathi

    November 3, 2014 at 10:21 pm

    Hi Vinay,
    How true it is when they say that sitting is new smoking. When you sit in the same posture you face many health related problems as your body lacks physical mobility. You gave excellent details about assembling the Ergotron Work Fit-A Sit Stand Work station. I think this concept is going to be the new working trend as everyone now realize that their lifestyle has become sedentary.

  23. Corina Ramos

    November 3, 2014 at 10:48 pm

    Great review!

    I have to get something like this for me. I sit at my desk more than half the time I’m awake for the whole day…that’s a long time.

    I’ve been hinting to my husband that I’d like him to buy me something I could mount on my treadmill so I can work on my laptop and walk too.

    Thanks for the video. It looks like it might take some time to assemble.

    Have a great new week.

    Corina

  24. donna merrill

    November 4, 2014 at 1:23 am

    Hi Vinay,

    The Ergotron workfit-a-sit stand work station sure looks good to me. When I seen the word “calories” I seen that as the best benefit he he he.

    But seriously now I want to thank you for showing the step by step instructions of how to put it together. Plus the many health benefits that comes with sitting and standing.

    Although it does look a bit complicated to put together, just like anything else, taking it one step at a time will get you there!

    Thanks again,

    -Donna

  25. Rohan Chaubey

    November 4, 2014 at 3:54 pm

    hi Vinay sir,
    I loved the Ergotron WorkFit-A Sit Stand Workstation Review. I think this is the best solution for people who have constant exposure to the screen. Especially bloggers, programmers, etc. That video was so impressive and it looks easy-to-manage. The features like adjusting the screen is the best in my opinion. And it is more surprising to see that we can use it for both the situations: Sitting and Standing.
    Good Day 🙂
    – Rohan Chaubey.

  26. Nisha Pandey

    November 5, 2014 at 1:33 am

    Hello Vinay,

    What a wonderful review! I never read such in-depth review anywhere. You have explained each and every aspects very clearly and nicely.

    I must look forward to have it soon. Otherwise sitting for long time can be really horrible in future.

    This look really a wonderful tool. So flexible and easy to set-up. All bloggers/internet marketers must have this tool for better health.

    Thanks for posting such a step-by-step instructions and detailed review.

    Have an awesome day ahead!

  27. Lux Ganzon

    November 5, 2014 at 10:04 pm

    My scoliosis is screaming for me to buy this. Thanks for a thorough review.

  28. Chris Walker

    November 7, 2014 at 6:06 am

    Wow what a super detailed post. I am all for standing desks. I currently am using a sit stand desks that mechanical based based. I got into a bad car accident several years ago and I have not been able to sit for a very long time. Being able to stand has helped relieve my back pain greatly. Not only that my brain seems to be a lot more active for some reason while standing. Great post and I totally recommend anyone who has back issues or wants to lose some weight over some time getting a sit stand desk.




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Read more posts in the category: Reviews




Ergotron Review: WorkFit-A Sit Stand Workstation

by Vinay Kachhara time to read: 15 min